Workshop Chairs:

Justin M. Wozniak (Argonne National Laboratory)
leads the development of the Swift/T workflow system. He won an R&D 100 award in 2018 and was a Gordon Bell finalist in 2020. He coupled experimental and computing resources at the Advanced Photon Source and the Cornell High-Energy Synchrotron Source (CHESS) and helped set a data collection record at CHESS. He received a PhD in Computer Science & Engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 2008.
Nicholas Schwarz (Argonne National Laboratory)
leads the scientific software and data management effort at the Advanced Photon Source x-ray user facility. His research interests focus on applying state-of-the-art computational techniques to solve scientific domain problems. At the Advanced Photon Source, Nicholas led the development of a facility-wide data management system. He co-authored the common data policy currently being adopted by US-based x-ray synchrotron light source and free electron laser facilities.

Contact us at [email protected].

Workshop Steering Committee:

Debbie Bard (National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center)
leads the Data Science Engagement Group at the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) at Berkeley National Lab. A native of the UK, her career spans research in particle physics, cosmology and computing on both sides of the Atlantic. She obtained her PhD at Edinburgh University, and worked at Imperial College London and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory before joining NERSC, where her group supports supercomputing for experimental science. Her research focuses on data-intensive computing and machine learning at scale.
Eli Dart (ESNet)
is a network engineer in the ESnet Science Engagement Group, which seeks to use advanced networking to improve scientific productivity and science outcomes for the DOE science facilities, their users, and their collaborators. Eli is a primary advocate for the Science DMZ design pattern and works with facilities, laboratories, universities, science collaborations, and science programs to deploy data-intensive science infrastructure based on the Science DMZ model. Eli is also a key contributor to the ESnet network requirements program, which collects, synthesizes, and aggregates the networking needs of the science programs ESnet serves. Eli has over 20 years of experience in network architecture, design, engineering, performance, and security in scientific and research environments. His primary professional interests are high-performance architectures and effective operational models for networks that support scientific missions, and building collaborations to bring about the effective use of high-performance networks by science projects.
Mallikarjun (Arjun) Shankar (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
is the head of the Advanced Technologies Section in the National Center for Computational Sciences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He is a distinguished R&D staff scientist and is the director of ORNL’s Compute and Data Environment for Science (CADES). Dr. Shankar received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. His research in the national laboratory setting has focused primarily on designing large-scale data analysis and modeling systems and middleware. His research has resulted in over seventy publications. Dr. Shankar has served on the DOE ASCAC subcommittee on Scientific and Technical Information. He is a member of the AAAS, a Senior Member of the ACM, and a Senior Member of the IEEE.
Christine Sweeney (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
is a scientist in the Applied Computer Science group at Los Alamos National Laboratory.  She currently works on analytics, tools, and computational workflows to support experimental science, especially in the area of X-ray beam line science.  She is the LANL lead for the ExaFEL project and the Control pillar lead for the ExaLearn project, both part of the Exascale Computing Project.  She also has experience in programming languages, compilers and programming models that support scientists to create their own software at scale.  She is a Senior Member of the IEEE.
Venkatram Vishwanath (Argonne National Laboratory)
leads the Data Science group at the Argonne leadership computing facility (ALCF). His current focus is on algorithms, system software, and workflows to facilitate data-centric applications on supercomputing systems. His interests include scientific applications, supercomputing architectures, parallel algorithms and runtimes, scalable analytics and collaborative workspaces. He has received best papers awards at venues including HPDC and LDAV, and a Gordon Bell finalist. Vishwanath received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 2009.

Workshop Program Committee:

  • Tekin Bicer (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • Stuart Campbell (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
  • Rudolph Dimper (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility)
  • Kjiersten Fagnan (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
  • Rafael Ferreira Da Silva (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Geoffrey Fox (Indiana University)
  • Alex Hexemer (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
  • Tony Hey (Rutherford Appleton Laboratory)
  • Shantenu Jha (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
  • Wiebke Koepp (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
  • Olga Kuchar (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Jakob Luettgau (University of Tennessee Knoxville)
  • Kurt H. Maier (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)
  • Preeti Malakar (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur)
  • Bojan Nikolic (Square Kilometer Array)
  • Hannah Parraga (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • Marc F. Paterno (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory)
  • Line Pouchard (Brookhaven National Laboratory)
  • Thomas E. Proffen (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Lavanya Ramakrishnan (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
  • Tobias Richter (European Spallation Source)
  • Jana Thayer (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)
  • Thomas D. Uram (Argonne National Laboratory)